Musical Influences

As a producer I think it’s very important to be not only skilled by knowledgeable about many types of music, things such as the culture, how its produced and it’s history. Although the past few years I have been focusing on trap and lofi production for the majority of the time I’ve been making music I was making different types of EDM (Electronic Dance music). One of my first big inspirations and the reason I ever started making music was a dubstep producer called downlink I made dubstep and drum and bass for about 3 years before I stopped to focus on beats. I think starting off with genres such as these which are synthesis heavy was a good idea because I learnt lots about synthesis more than I would have learnt if I always made beats.

During this time I was definitely my most creative I tried to branch out and make more strange and abstract sounding music, here are some examples :

1.

2.

3.

These tracks although unfinished and not the best do showcase some creativity production wise, the skills I learnt from these times help lots in my production today as I can take little elements or things I used to do and incorporate them into my music now.

Leave a comment